The Bodies of ISSI - Organization Chart

The Board of Trustees oversees the work accomplished by the institute, exerts financial control, and appoints the ISSI Directors and members of the Science Committee. The members of the Board of Trustees are of the representatives of the Founder and of the funding agencies.

Members of the Board of Trustees:

Chairman: Urs Würgler, Bern, Switzerland
Vice Chairman: Willy Benz, University of Bern, Switzerland
Secretary of the Board: Rudolf von Steiger, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland
Hans Balsiger, University of Bern, Switzerland
Lennard A. Fisk, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Daniel Fürst, RUAG, Zurich, Switzerland
Alvaro Giménez, ESA, Paris, France
Rosine Lallement, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, France
André Maeder, Observatoire de Genève Sauverny, Switzerland
Daniel Neuenschwander, Swiss Space Office, Bern, Switzerland
Nicolas Thomas, President of the Pro ISSI Association, Bern, Switzerland
Sergio Volonté, Former Head of the Planning and Coordination Office in the Science and Robotic Exploration Directorate, ESA, Paris, France - retired
Wu Ji, National Space Science Center (CAS) and International Space Science Institute Beijing, China
Lev M. Zelenyi, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia


The ISSI Directorate is in charge of the scientific, operational and administrative management of the International Space Science Institute. It interacts with the Space Agencies, the Swiss authorities, the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee and the Association Pro ISSI.

Members of the Directorate:

Rafael Rodrigo, Executive Director
Anny Cazenave, Director Earth Science
Rudolf von Steiger, Director
John Zarnecki, Director


The Science Committee is made up of internationally renowned scientists. It supports the Directorate in the establishment of the scientific agenda, e.g., evaluating the scientific team proposals of the Annual Call.

Members of the Science Committee:

Chairman: Tilman Spohn, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Berlin, Germany

Lennart Bengtsson, University of Reading, United Kingdom
Andrei Bykov, Russian Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg, Russia
Athéna Coustenis, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, France
Xiaolong Dong, International Space Science Institute Beijing, Beijing, China (ex officio)
Masaki Fujimoto, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, Sagamihara, Japan
Joanna D. Haigh, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Hugh Hudson, Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California, USA
Vladislav Izmodenov, IKI, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia (ex officio RAS)
Luisa M. Lara, Instituto de Astrofisica de Andalucia, CSIC, Granada, Spain
Richard Marsden, ESTEC ESA, Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Mark McCaughrean, ESTEC ESA, Noordwijk, The Netherlands (ex officio ESA)
Georges Meylan, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Rumi Nakamura, Space Research Institute, Graz, Austria
Michael Rast, ESA ESRIN, Frascati, Italy (ex officio ESA)
Stéphane Udry, Department of Astronomy, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Luigi Stella, INAF, Rome, Italy
Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, MSSL, University College London, Dorking, United Kingdom
Marco Velli, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, USA


The Association Pro ISSI under the direction of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI promotes the ideas of ISSI to the Swiss public and the science community by organizing public lectures and events in Switzerland where internationally known space scientists present their findings. Summaries of these talks are published in the journal "SPATIUM".

Members of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI:

President: Nicolas Thomas, University of Bern, Switzerland
Treasurer: Frank Rutschmann, Bern, Switzerland
Editor of Spatium: Hansjörg Schlaepfer, Zurich, Switzerland
Secretary: Silvia Wenger, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland

Funding Agencies of the International Space Science Institute

European Space Agency >

  Swiss Confederation >
  Swiss National Science Foundation >
  University of Bern >
  Russian Academy of Sciences >



List of former members of all bodies of ISSI >

last update: 23 October 2014


Members of the Board of Trustees Members of the ISSI Directorate Members of the Science Committee Members of the Board of the Pro-ISSI Association ISSI Management and Administration Funding Agencies of ISSI Board of Trustees ISSI Directorate Science Committee Association Pro ISSI Funding Agencies