The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversees the work accomplished by the institute, exerts financial control, and appoints the ISSI Directors and members of the Science Committee. The members of the Board of Trustees are of the representatives of the Founder and of the funding agencies.

Members of the Board of Trustees:

Chair: Georges Meylan, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Vice Chair: Monica Tosi, INAF – OAS Bologna, Bologna, Italy
Secretary of the Board: Maurizio Falanga, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland
Willy Benz, University of Bern, Switzerland
Johan A.M. Bleeker, SRON, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Véronique Dehant, Royal Observatory of Belgium, Brussels, Belgium
Lennard A. Fisk, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Daniel Fürst, RUAG, Zurich, Switzerland
Günther Hasinger, ESA, Paris, France
Renato Krpoun, Swiss Space Office, Bern, Switzerland
Georges Meynet, Observatoire de Sauverny, University of Geneva, Sauverny, Switzerland
Christoph Mordasini, President of the Pro ISSI Association, Bern, Switzerland
Aude Pugin, APCO Technologies, Aigle, Switzerland
Ji Wu, National Space Science Center (CAS) and International Space Science Institute Beijing, China
Lev M. Zelenyi, Space Research Institute (IKI), Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia


The Directorate

The ISSI Directorate is in charge of the scientific, operational and administrative management of the International Space Science Institute. It interacts with the Space Agencies, the Swiss authorities, the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee and the Association Pro ISSI.

Members of the Directorate:

Tilman Spohn, Executive Director
Anny Cazenave, Director Earth Science
Maurizio Falanga, Director
Joachim Wambsganss, Director


The Science Committee

The Science Committee is made up of internationally renowned scientists. It supports the Directorate in the establishment of the scientific agenda, e.g., evaluating the scientific team proposals of the Annual Call.

Members of the Science Committee:

Chair: Louise Harra, PMOD World Radiation Center, Davos, Switzerland
Secretary of the Science Committee: Mark Sargent, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland

Elena Amato, INAF, Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri, Firenze, Italy
Svetlana Berdyugina, Leibniz Inst. für Sonnenphysik, Freiburg, Germany
Roberto Bruno, IAPS, INAF, Rome, Italy
Peng-Fei Chen, Nanjing University, China
Frédéric Courbin, EPFL, Observatoire de Sauverny, Versoix, Switzerland
Xiaolong Dong, International Space Science Institute Beijing, Beijing, China (ex officio)
Vladislav Izmodenov, IKI, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia (ex officio RAS)
Emmanuelle J. Javaux, Université de Liège, Belgium
Catherine L. Johnson, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Karl-Ludwig Klein, Observatoire de Paris, LESIA, Meudon, France
Philippa J. Mason, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Mark McCaughrean, ESTEC ESA, Noordwijk, The Netherlands (ex officio ESA)
Linda Parker, STI, Huntsville, Alabama, USA (ex officio LPI/NASA)
Céline Péroux, ESO (European Southern Observatory), Garching, Germany
Michael Rast, ESA ESRIN, Frascati, Italy (ex officio ESA)
Kanako Seki, University of Tokyo, Japan
Giovanna Tinetti, UCL, Dept. Astrophysics & Astronomy, Didcot, United Kingdom
Karina von Schuckmann, Mercator Océan, Ramonville Saint-Agne, France
Endawoke Yizengaw, Aerospace Corporation, Los Angeles, CA, USA


The Association Pro ISSI

The Association Pro ISSI under the direction of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI promotes the ideas of ISSI to the Swiss public and the science community by organizing public lectures and events in Switzerland where internationally known space scientists present their findings. Summaries of these talks are published in the journal “SPATIUM”.

Members of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI:

President: Christoph Mordasini, University of Bern, Switzerland
Treasurer: Annette Jaeckel, Bern, Switzerland
Editors of Spatium: Anuschka Pauluhn, PSI, Switzerland and Andreas Verdun, University of Bern, Switzerland
Secretary: Yasmine Calisesi, Bern, Switzerland


Funding Agencies of the International Space Science Institute


European Space Agency





Swiss Confederation










Further Support

University of Bern >>

JAXA | Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS) >>



List of former members of all bodies – ISSI Archive Webpage >>