Similar to what has been observed from Jupiter, strong stellar winds and impulsive events on stars are believed to cause non-thermal radio emissions from their planets in the 10 to 1000 MHz range.  A study is proposed to estimate the radio emission characteristics of a suitable sub-set of known extrasolar planets, and develop a strategy to carry out observations with the goal to detect one of them.  The strategy will be implemented with an observation run(s) mid-2004 at a yet to be determined low frequency array (funded separately, via other sources).  The workshop is to be held at ISSI, with one meeting (1 week) in March of 2004, and a follow-up meeting (1 week) after the observations in the late 2004 or spring of 2005.

The major goals of meeting 1 is to:
  1. Discuss the underlying physics of planetary radio emissions (Proximity to primary; Star/stellar wind type; Planetary magnetic field, etc.), and decide on methods to estimate signal emission strength and frequency.

  2. Develop an observation strategy – Pick a suitable set of targets from a list of extrasolar planets

  3. Determine which radio array(s) are most suitable for the observations, and how to access them.
Meeting 2 will discuss the results of the observations, after some analysis of the data has been accomplished.  The proposed workshop will be attended by experts in radio astronomy, solar wind/planet interactions, and extrasolar planet searches.  Depending on the overall return from this effort, a publication such as an ISSI series book detailing the results and observational method, is envisioned.  A publication is particularly important in view of the planned LOFAR array, which is to come on line in the 2006-7 time frame.

The Team

 The team is comprised of researcher active in the fields of radio and visual astronomy, planetary formation, and solar wind/planet interaction:

* Daniel Winterhalter (Lead), Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA, (
* Geoffrey Bryden, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA, (
* C. H. Ishwara Chandra, National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, India (
William Farrell, NASA/Goddart Space Flight Center, USA (
* Walter Gonzalez, Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas Espaciais, Brazil (
Samuel Gulkis, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA (
Marc Kuchner, Princeton University, USA (
Thomas Kuiper, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA (
Joseph Lazio, Naval Research Laboratory, USA (
Alain Lecacheux, Observatoire de Paris, Nancay France (
Boris  Ryabov, Institute of Radio Astronomy, Ukraine (
* Rudolf  Treumann, Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany, (
Stephane Udry, Observatoire de Genève, Switzerland (
Russel White, California Institute of Technology,  USA (
Harold Yorke, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Caltech, USA (
* Philippe  Zarka, Observatoire de Paris, Meudon, France (

(* Denotes attendee of meeting 1.)

Report of Meeting 1