Sandra Chapman has been selected as the Johannes Geiss Fellow 2023

The International Space Science Institute ISSI is proud to announce

Prof. Sandra Chapman

(Physics Department, University of Warwick, United Kingdom) as the Johannes Geiss Fellow 2023.


Sandra Chapman, Johannes Geiss Fellow 2023

Sandra Chapman is primarily but not exclusively a plasma physicist working on non-linear and complex systems in astrophysics and in the laboratory. She is Professor of Physics and Director of the Centre for Fusion, Space and Astrophysics at the University of Warwick and Adjunct Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Tromso. She read Physics on an Exhibition Scholarship to Imperial College, London and her interest in nonlinear systems began with her PhD work (also at Imperial College). Her early work was recognised with the COSPAR Zeldovich Medal (commission D) and the EGS Young Scientists’ Medal. She was selected to give the 2014 Royal Astronomical Society James Dungey Lecture and the 2020 American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting Ed Lorenz Lecture, was part of a team awarded a 2021 Lloyd’s of London Science of Risk Prize, and has been awarded the 2022 Royal Astronomical Society Chapman Medal. Sandra was a 2017/18 Fulbright-Lloyd’s of London Scholar, a 2003/4 Fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Harvard and has also been granted Research Fellowships by the Nuffield Foundation and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science. She has published over 200 papers in the refereed literature and a textbook on Electrodynamics. She is also an artist who works to bridge the ‘arts- science divide’ and has held a NESTA Dreamtime fellowship – working as an artist with the British Antarctic Survey in Antarctica.



The Fellowship is named after Prof. Johannes Geiss, the founder of the institute.

ISSI had received excellent proposals from top level scientists from which the selection committee chose the ninth JGF recipient after thorough evaluation. The selection committee consisted of the Directors and the Chair of the ISSI Science Committee.

ISSI is honored by the high interest from the science community in the Johannes Geiss Fellowship and would like to deeply thank all applicants.