International Space Science Institute (ISSI)Hallerstrasse 6
3012 Bern

Phone +41 31 684 48 96

Our scientific opportunities support the community through six distinct modes of operation. Links to proposal templates or on-line submission forms are provided for each individual tool.

Find explanations, forms of applications and an overview of current and past activities.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversees the work accomplished by the institute, exerts financial control, and appoints the ISSI Directors and members of the Science Committee. The members of the Board of Trustees are of the representatives of the Founder and of the funding agencies.


Willy Benz (Chair), University of Bern, Switzerland
Monica Tosi (Vice Chair), INAF – OAS Bologna, Bologna, Italy
Maurizio Falanga (Secretary of the Board), International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland

Lennard A. Fisk, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Renato Krpoun, Swiss Space Office, Bern, Switzerland
Hitoshi Kuninaka, Institute of Space and Astronautical Sciences (ISAS), JAXA, Kanagawa, Japan
Georges Meynet, Observatoire de Sauverny, University of Geneva, Sauverny, Switzerland
Christoph Mordasini, President of the Pro ISSI Association, Bern, Switzerland
Carole Mundell, ESA, Paris, France
Aude Pugin, APCO Technologies, Aigle, Switzerland
Linda J. Tacconi, MPI for extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany
Nicolas Thomas, University of Bern, Switzerland
Holger Wentscher, Beyond Gravity, RUAG, Switzerland
Ji Wu, National Space Science Center (CAS) and International Space Science Institute Beijing, China
Lev M. Zelenyi, Space Research Institute (IKI), Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia

A Spiral Amongst Thousands
Credits ESA/Webb, NASA & CSA, A. Martel