International Space Science Institute (ISSI)Hallerstrasse 6
3012 Bern

Phone +41 31 684 48 96

Our scientific opportunities support the community through six distinct modes of operation. Links to proposal templates or on-line submission forms are provided for each individual tool.

Find explanations, forms of applications and an overview of current and past activities.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversees the work accomplished by the institute, exerts financial control, and appoints the ISSI Directors and members of the Science Committee. The members of the Board of Trustees are of the representatives of the Founder and of the funding agencies.


Chair: Willy Benz, University of Bern, Switzerland
Vice Chair: Monica Tosi, INAF – OAS Bologna, Bologna, Italy
Secretary of the Board: Maurizio Falanga, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland
Lennard A. Fisk, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Renato Krpoun, Swiss Space Office, Bern, Switzerland
Hitoshi Kuninaka, Institute of Space and Astronautical Sciences (ISAS), JAXA, Kanagawa, Japan
Georges Meynet, Observatoire de Sauverny, University of Geneva, Sauverny, Switzerland
Christoph Mordasini, President of the Pro ISSI Association, Bern, Switzerland
Carole Mundell, ESA, Paris, France
Aude Pugin, APCO Technologies, Aigle, Switzerland
Linda J. Tacconi, MPI for extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany
Nicolas Thomas, University of Bern, Switzerland
Holger Wentscher, Beyond Gravity, RUAG, Switzerland
Ji Wu, National Space Science Center (CAS) and International Space Science Institute Beijing, China
Lev M. Zelenyi, Space Research Institute (IKI), Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia

Science Committee

The Science Committee is made up of internationally renowned scientists. It supports the Executive Director and the Directorate in the establishment of the scientific program., e.g., evaluating the scientific team proposals of the Annual Call.

Members of the Science Committee:

Chair: Emmanuelle J. Javaux, Université de Liège, Belgium
Secretary of the Science Committee: Mark Sargent, International Space Science Institute, Bern, Switzerland

Elena Amato, INAF, Osservatorio Astrofisico di Arcetri, Firenze, Italy
Annett Bartsch, b.geos, Korneuburg, Austria
Svetlana Berdyugina, IRSOL Locarno, Switzerland
Emeline Bolmont, Obs. of Geneva, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Frédéric Courbin, EPFL, Observatoire de Sauverny, Versoix, Switzerland
Xiaolong Dong, International Space Science Institute Beijing, Beijing, China (ex officio)
Eelco Doornbos, KNMI, the Netherlands
Ilaria Ermolli, INAF-OAR, Italy
Shinsuke Imada, University of Tokyo, Japan
Vladislav Izmodenov, IKI, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia (ex officio RAS)
Catherine L. Johnson, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Benjamin Koetz, ESA ESRIN, Frascati, Italy (ex officio ESA)
Jasmina Magdalenić, University of Leuven, Belgium
Philippa J. Mason, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Paul McNamara, ESTEC ESA, Noordwijk, The Netherlands (ex officio ESA)
Céline Péroux, ESO (European Southern Observatory), Garching, Germany
Daniel Verscharen, UCL, UK
Linghua Wang, Peking University, China


The ISSI Directorate is in charge of the scientific, operational and administrative management of the International Space Science Institute. It interacts with the Space Agencies, the Swiss authorities, the Board of Trustees, the Science Committee and the Association Pro ISSI.

Members of the Directorate:

Antonella Nota, Executive Director
Maurizio Falanga, Director
Thierry Dudok de Wit, Director
Michael Rast, Director

The Association Pro ISSI

The Association Pro ISSI under the direction of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI promotes the ideas of ISSI to the Swiss public and the science community by organizing public lectures and events in Switzerland where internationally known space scientists present their findings. Summaries of these talks are published in the journal “SPATIUM”.

Members of the Board of the Association Pro ISSI:

President: Christoph Mordasini, University of Bern, Switzerland
Vice President: Martin Rubin, University of Bern, Switzerland
Treasurer: Jonas Kühn, University of Bern, Switzerland
Editors of Spatium: Anuschka Pauluhn, PSI, Switzerland and Andreas Verdun, University of Bern, Switzerland
Secretary: Oliver Müller, LASTRO, EPFL, Bern, Switzerland

A Spiral Amongst Thousands
Credits ESA/Webb, NASA & CSA, A. Martel